Table of Contents Table of Contents
Previous Page  10 / 232 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 10 / 232 Next Page
Page Background



H O R I Z O N 2 0 2 0 P R O J E C T S : P O R TA L




unisian scientists are set to benefit from

Horizon 2020 on a par with EU member

states following the signing of a bilateral

association agreement.

The deal will be signed by Carlos Moedas, European Commissioner for

Research, Science and Innovation, and Chaudhary Bouden, Tunisian

Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research.

Prior to the signing ceremony, Moedas said: “I am pleased to welcome

Tunisia into Horizon 2020, the biggest programme for research and

innovation in the world.

“This agreement is an historical one. It shows that through research and

innovation, the EU is supporting the young Tunisian democracy and helping

to invest in knowledge as a foundation of future development. Tunisia’s

accession also shows how a research policy open to the world can bring

novel ideas and enrich our common research efforts.”

The association agreement allows

for enhanced co-operation in R&I

and sees Tunisian research

institutes, universities, businesses

and individual researchers enjoy

access to the opportunities and

funds of Horizon 2020 in fields

ranging from blue sky research to

demonstration projects. Tunisian

SMEs and companies will

additionally be able to benefit from

increased support to develop new

ideas and bring products and

services to the market.

The agreement should enter into force starting in 2016, after ratification

by the Tunisian Parliament.

1 December 2015



he EU has reached an agreement on the 2016

budget, which has been set at €155bn in

commitments and €144bn in payment credits.

Negotiators finalised the deal in the early hours of Saturday, the European

Commission announced.

The budget sees more money assigned to aid refugees in the EU

Neighbourhood, whilst also boosting investment in competitiveness, jobs

and growth, as well as supporting the recovery of the European economy.

Kristalina Georgieva, Commission Vice-President for Budget and Human

Resources, commented: “At a moment when Europe is under pressure on

a number of fronts, and must stand united, we are focusing resources on

priorities. In a tight budget, we include a significant increase to deal with

the refugee crisis and more investment to create growth and jobs. We are

working to get the best possible results for European taxpayers.”

Specifically, the

deal includes

more than €4bn

to address the

refugee crisis in

both the EU

and the countries

where refugees

are coming from.

Meanwhile, nearly half the funds (€69.8bn in commitments) will be to

stimulate growth, employment and competitiveness.

There will also be €2bn in commitments and €500m in payments for the

guarantee fund of the European Fund for Strategic Investments, with

Horizon 2020 receiving €10bn in payments in 2016, up 11.6% from 2015.

€1.8bn in payments, a 30% increase on this year, has also been allocated

to Erasmus+.

16 November 2015




he General Assembly of Science Europe has

elected a new president, vice-presidents,

and governing board.

The new president, Professor Michael Matlosz, began his professional

research career in 1985 in the Department of Materials Science at the

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, prior to his appointment

in 1993 as university professor of process engineering at the National

School for Advanced Study of the Chemical Industries, the chemical

engineering faculty of the University of Lorraine in Nancy, France.

A specialist in the application of microtechnologies for performance

enhancement in chemical production, from 2005 to 2009 he initiated

and directed a major European research initiative, IMPULSE, dedicated

to innovation in the chemical process industries.

Matlosz was director of ENSIC-

Nancy from 2006 to 2011 and

director of the French National

Research Agency’s Department of

Exploratory and Emerging Research

from 2011 until his appointment as

president and CEO in 2014. He is also a member of the National

Academy of Technologies of France.

Professor Emilio Lora-Tamayo, president of the Spanish National

Research Council, has been re-elected as vice-president for a second

mandate, while Professor Ingrid Petersson, director general of the

Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Science and

Spatial Planning, has been elected as vice-president for the first time.

The other eight members of the newly elected governing board include

both heads of Science Europe member organisations who were

members of the previous board as well as new members.

20 November 2015

© Cernavoda

© ColiN00B

© Images Money